Compilation of Macaw Species Currently in High Demand

Among the most brilliantly colored of all birds, the macaws can be distinguished by their pointed wings and exceptionally long tails. The 40-inch (102-centimeter) hyacinth macaw is the largest bird in the parrot family. Its close relatives, the Lear’s and glaucous macaws, are rare and are hardly ever found in captivity. Most captive macaws are members of the genus Ara, which includes the military and noble macaws.

Macaw 1
Macaw 5
Macaw 4
Macaw 3
Macaw 2

Here are some of the most well-known types of macaws:

  1. Scarlet Macaw (Ara macao): Recognized for its stunning red, blue, and yellow plumage, the Scarlet Macaw is one of the most iconic and recognizable macaw species.
  2. Blue-and-gold Macaw (Ara ararauna): This macaw is known for its striking blue and yellow feathers. It has a gentle and affectionate temperament, making it a popular choice among bird enthusiasts.
  3. Green-winged Macaw (Ara chloropterus): With its brilliant red and green feathers, the Green-winged Macaw is known for its beauty and intelligence. It has a loud call and requires ample social interaction.
  4. Hyacinth Macaw (Anodorhynchus hyacinthinus): The Hyacinth Macaw is the largest of all parrots, with stunning cobalt-blue plumage. It’s native to South America and is critically endangered due to habitat loss.
  5. Military Macaw (Ara militaris): This macaw species has green plumage with a distinctive red forehead patch. It’s named for its resemblance to a military uniform.
  6. Red-fronted Macaw (Ara rubrogenys): Native to South America, this macaw species has a red forehead and striking green and blue plumage.
  7. Scarlet-chested Parrot (Ara glaucogularis): Also known as the Red-fronted Macaw, this species is smaller than the Scarlet Macaw and has a red chest and blue wings.
  8. Blue-throated Macaw (Ara glaucogularis): Recognized by its blue throat and vibrant green and blue plumage, the Blue-throated Macaw is critically endangered and found in a limited area of Bolivia.
  9. Spix’s Macaw (Cyanopsitta spixii): Often referred to as the “Little Blue Macaw,” this species is famous for being one of the rarest birds in the world. It’s critically endangered and native to Brazil.
  10. Buffon’s Macaw (Ara ambigua): With its colorful and varied plumage, Buffon’s Macaw is known for its striking appearance. It’s found in Central and South America.
  11. Red-bellied Macaw (Orthopsittaca manilata): This smaller macaw species has a reddish belly and is found in parts of South America.
  12. Great Green Macaw (Ara ambiguus): Recognized by its deep green plumage and red forehead, the Great Green Macaw is found in Central and South America.
  13. Cuban Macaw (Ara tricolor): This extinct species was native to Cuba and is known from historical records and illustrations. Unfortunately, it is believed to be extinct since the mid-19th century.
  14. Illiger’s Macaw (Ara maracana): Also known as the Blue-winged Macaw, this species has a distinct blue patch on its wings and is found in parts of South America.
  15. Lear’s Macaw (Anodorhynchus leari): This species has deep blue plumage and a distinctive yellow face. It’s native to Brazil and is considered endangered.
Macaw 6
Macaw 10
Macaw 9
Macaw 8
Macaw 7

These are just a few examples of the diverse and captivating macaw species. Each species has its own unique characteristics, behaviors, and habitat preferences. It’s important to note that many macaw species are endangered due to habitat loss and the illegal pet trade.